1970 Makaha International Surfing Championships


Peter Drouyn, Martha Sunn, Craig Wilson, Steve Boehne, Barrie Algaw

Governing Body:

Waikiki Surf Club


NOTE: the 1970 Makaha contest finished in early 1971

"Wilson Wins Junior Title in Makaha Surfing Action," Honolulu Advertiser, Dec 20, 1970

Craig Wilson of Windansea whipped through a field of 36 to capture the junior men's title in the 18th annual Makaha International yesterday.

Riding the six to eight-foot surf, Wilson finished ahead of top-seeded Keone Downing of the Outrigger Canoe Club in second place, and unattached Larry Bertlemann in third.

Martha Sunn surfed to the women's title,...