1975 Duke Kahanamoku Surfing Classic


Ian Cairns

Governing Body:



“Ian Cairns, Duke Surf Champion,” Honolulu Star-Bulletin, Dec 18, 1975

Australian Ian Cairns rode the towering 20-foot waves at Waimea Bay to near-perfection yesterday to capture the 11th annual Duke Kahanamoku Surfing Classic and pocket $2,000 in first-place prize money.

Surprising, Michael Ho of Hawaii—who was originally an alternate but entered the tournament when Jonathon Paarman of South Africa bowed out—took second place, scoring the highest point total for a single wave (18 of a poss...